Video Footage

Here is a collection of all the video footage I’ve been able to find relating to Leopold or Loeb.

[Descriptions of the video footage will be in brackets]

[?] means I wasn’t able to understand what was being said.

(FREE) means that the video can be watched for free. ($) means that the video must be bought to be viewed, (A) means you have to go to an archive to view it. All of the free videos and some of the archival videos will have transcripts.

These are sorted in chronological order.

Videos
(A) The Kirtland Warbler In Its Summer Home
(FREE) November 11, 1946: Drama Behind Bars
(A) 1953 Leopold Opens Parole Plea
(A) July 30, 1957 Leopold Denied Freedom
(A) July 1957: Leopold denied freedom
(A) July 1957: Leopold holds press conference
(FREE) 7-31-1957 Leopold Press Conference
(A) February 1958: Leopold and Touhy paroled
(FREE) Touhy Interview at Stateville 2/20/58 – Negative Trims
(A) 1958 ABC Leopold Free
(A) March 13, 1958: Leopold release
(FREE) Leopold Release Sound & Silent 3-13-58
(A) Leopold Release
($)(A) August 30, 1971: LEOPOLD DEATH #16920
($)(A) August 30, 1971: LEOPOLD DEATH #459655
($)(A) August 30, 1971: LEOPOLD DEATH #218979
($)(A) May 21, 1999: THE CENTURY (LEOPOLD AND LOEB) #186319

Other Videos of Interest
(FREE) 1927: Charlevoix
(FREE) 1927: Charlevoix – Lewis House
(FREE) 1927-1931: Charlevoix
(FREE) [1924 circa: Chicago]
(FREE) 1931 MONTAGE A fatal prison uprising by eleven hundred inmates / Joliet, Illinois
(FREE) Fire at Stateville Correctional Center in 1931
(FREE) Smoke and fire at Stateville Correctional Center during 1931 inmate riot
(FREE) IL National Guard at Stateville Correctional Center after 1931 inmate riot
(FREE) Men with guns in Stateville Correctional Center after 1931 inmate riot
(FREE) Aerial views of Stateville Prison in Joliet, Illinois

Videos

(A) The Kirtland Warbler In Its Summer Home

Available to watch at the Chicago History Museum and in the movie Swoon and several Leopold-Loeb documentaries.
Length: 07:14
Date: 1923
Summary: Nathan Leopold Jr., Sidney Stein Jr., Henry B. Steele Jr. and James Dewey Watson as well as unidentified persons can be seen interacting with a nest of Kirtland’s Warblers. This footage was shot by James McGillivray in Michigan in June of 1923. There are also shots of the warblers and nest without human interaction.

(FREE) November 11, 1946: Drama Behind Bars: Life-termers at Illinois Stateville Prison, led by Nathan Leopold of the sensational Chicago kidnap-murder case of two decades ago, volunteer to will their eyes on death for sight restoration of the blind. Link

Part of the Hearst Newsreels Collection at UCLA

Transcript:

Prison Drama!

Commentary by Jay Sims

News of the Day

[Video taken outside at Stateville penitentiary. A large group of prisoners are in a semi-circle around a table where four men are sitting. Several guards stand by. A round house and bleachers can be seen in the background.

The prisoners raise their hands and it cuts to a close up of the crowd with hands raised. Leopold is not visible.

It cuts to Leopold sitting in front of the table, one leg crossed over the other. The rest of the prisoners can be seen standing behind him. One man stands to his left, another sits at the table holding a pen and Warden Joseph Ragen stands behind the table to his right. Leopold removes his hat and the man at the left opens both of his eyes. He then gets up. Another prisoner takes his place and has his eyes opened.

Three prisoners, including Leopold, stand around a microphone with Warden Ragen. The rest of the prisoners can be seen behind them. When each speak the camera gets close to them.]

Jay Sims: A heartwarming gesture within the grim walls of the Illinois State Penitentiary at Stateville. Supposedly pardoned felons, most of them life-termers, volunteer to will their eyes on death to the eye bank for sight restoration. Nathan Leopold of the sensational Chicago kidnap-murder case of two decades ago is prominent among those answering the call. Convicts offering their eyes that the miracle of surgery may bring sight to those imprisoned by blindness.

Warden Ragen: You men are doing a great thing. Would you mind telling us why you’re doing it?

Unidentified prisoner 1: I’m glad to be able to help someone who’s worse off than I’ll ever expect to be.

Leopold: It’s one way we have of doing our bit.

Unidentified prisoner 2: I feel that I am helping somebody more unfortunate than myself.

Warden Ragen: Well I think you’re to be complimented on it and I am sure society will pay you in one way or another for it.

(A) 1953 Leopold Opens Parole Plea Link

Part of the Chicago Film Archives

[Shot of the model of Stateville prison. Stateville’s front gate. People walking. Leopold having his photo taken. Witnesses for Leopold’s parole filing in including Helen Williams. The Parole Board members talking, with no sound. Austin and Ragen together.]

Ragen: You’re down here on the Leopold case Mr. Austin, I understand.
Austin: I am, Warden Ragen, and the reason I’m down here is because I believe this particular murder is different from any other murder that has occurred in this county of Cook. This is not a crime of vengeance, this is not a crime for financial profit, this was not a crime to avoid apprehension by the police officer and be taken to jail or to the electric chair. This was a crime committed solely for mental stimulation by a person with a high IQ. We feel that therefore this parole board should follow the admonition of the trial judge and of the prosecutor of 28 years ago, that he should never be released until the time he is carried out in a box.

[An interview with Ragen, Leopold and William Byron, one of Leopold’s witnesses]

Ragen: What will you do if you are paroled, Nathan?
Leopold: Well, Warden, if I’m fortunate enough to be paroled I’d be delighted [to do] any kind of useful or constructive work. The thing that I’d particularly be interested in would be medical technical work of some sort, I feel like that’s what I’m most qualified to do.
Ragen: How about an x-ray technician?
Leopold: That’d be swell. I’ve been working in x-ray for 12 years, I’m very much interested in it and I’d like to continue.
Ragen: Have you considered a teaching job?
Leopold: I don’t believe I would be offered a teaching job, Warden.
Ragen: You feel that you do deserve a parole?
Leopold: Well, all I can say there, Warden, is I was a boy of 19 when I committed the crime [] which I []. We don’t let 19 year old boys vote. We don’t let them sign legal contacts except for necessaries. But at 19 I was able to commit an act which has cost me to date, 28 years of my life. Since I have been in here I’ve tried to embrace what opportunities there were for constructive work. Tried to be helpful to others wherever it’s been possible. And I feel sure that I would never come back.
Byron: I think it’s important, Warden, that he is here on a parole hearing because the parole board made a unanimous recommendation to the governor for clemency, and that having been granted, he now comes up here. I think that bears up on the question of deserving of a parole.

(A) July 30, 1957 Leopold Denied Freedom Link

Part of the Chicago Film Archives

[Springfield, IL, Governor Stratton’s statement]

Stratton: The members of the pardon board have reported to me that they have thoroughly reviewed this entire file and record, have carefully weighed all the facts and circumstances surrounding the commission of the crime for which Nathan F. Leopold Jr. is incarcerated, have given most thoughtful consideration to all that has been presented on behalf of the prisoner as well as the opinions expressed by the trial judge and prosecuting state’s attorney at the time of imposition of sentence. And have come to the conclusion that they would not be warranted in recommending that executive clemency be granted. Nathan F. Leopold Jr. is eligible to parole consideration and may file a petition for a rehearing of his case at any time he so desires. Upon full and careful deliberation of all the aspects in this case I concur in the unanimous recommendation of the pardon board and decline to interfere with the sentences of Nathan F. Leopold Jr.

[Shots of prison walls, Ragen on the phone, writing something down, being let through a door in the prison, feet walking, a roundhouse, (assumedly) Leopold’s cell and bunk, prison exteriors. Ragen press statement in his office.]

Ragen: I just received the message from the governor and the conclusion of that message was on full and careful deliberation on all aspects of the case I concur in the unanimous recommendation of the parole board and decline to interfere with the sentences of Nathan F. Leopold Jr.
Reporter: You brought that message to Leopold?
Ragen: I’ve given him that message.
Reporter: How did he take it?
Ragen: Apparently he had heard it over the radio, in fact he told me that he heard it over the radio. And there was no reaction so far as I could see.

[Ragen pointing to a spot on the Stateville model, #9 roundhouse (likely where Leopold’s cell is approximately)]

(A) July 1957: Leopold denied freedom Link

Part of the Hearst Newsreels Collection at UCLA

(A) July 1957: Leopold holds press conference Link

Part of the Hearst Newsreels Collection at UCLA

(FREE) 7-31-1957 Leopold Press Conference Link

DATE OF PRODUCTION
July 31 1957
ABSTRACT
Nathan Freudenthal Leopold Jr. speaks at a press conference at Stateville Correctional Center in Crest Hill, Illinois on July 31, 1957.

University of Chicago students Nathan Leopold and Richard Loeb were imprisoned for the kidnap and murder of fourteen-year-old Bobby Franks in 1924. They committed the murder in order to demonstrate their intellectual superiority, which they believed made them capable of carrying out the “perfect crime.”

RUN TIME
2 min 44 sec
FORMAT
16mm
EXTENT
100 feet
COLOR
B&W
SOUND
Optical

Transcript:

[Illinois telenews. Shots of wall, shots of Leopold walking with statement in hand, reporters walking, film equipment, shots from behind, then to the front. When walking he’s got his glasses off, when talking they’re on, with a glasses case in his front pocket.]

Leopold: I am disappointed, of course. Had I not hoped for favorable consideration, had I not felt that leniency was warranted, I should not have filed my application. However, I am not crushed by the adverse decision. I am grateful to the governor and to the members of the parole and pardon board for the very complete scrutiny they have given to all the facts and circumstances of my case. I’m sorry that they did not feel that clemency should be extended to me at this time. But the decision is, as I have always known it was, and felt that it should be, theirs. In his message denying my application for executive clemency, Governor Stratton noted that I am eligible to request rehearing of my petition of conditional release under parole. I will certainly avail myself at the earliest possible moment of this right, and again file a petition for rehearing before the parole board.

[Statement ends, Leopold lights a cigarette, he’s smoking during the question and answer portion.]

Reporter: Do you think you would be more useful on the outside? And, uh, how?
Leopold: I definitely would hope to be more useful on the outside and how? Well, I would have larger opportunities to use whatever small talents I have.
Reporter: Nathan what do you plan to do with your parole?
Leopold: Well, that’s pretty far in the future now. I would love to have a job as a medical technician in a church hospital in Puerto Rico. If it’s available and I ever am paroled and it’s available at that time I think that’d be my first choice.

[Shots of reporters writing, Elmer passing out papers (what I assume are copies of Leopold’s statement) to reporters. Shots outside, Leopold walking back indoors, being searched. Shots of reporters shoes, going into a cell, looking around, shot of door closing.]

(A) February 1958: Leopold and Touhy paroled Link

Part of the Hearst Newsreels Collection at UCLA

(FREE) Touhy Interview at Stateville 2/20/58 – Negative Trims, Link

Part of the Chicago Film Archives

DATE OF PRODUCTION
1958
ABSTRACT
Roger Touhy was an Irish-American mob boss from Chicago who was imprisoned at Stateville Prison until he was granted parole in 1958. Black and white footage features reporters interviewing him as he is released from prison. The warden of Statesville is also interviewed and discusses the release of Touhy and Nathan Leopold (who was granted parole at the same time). A man outside the prison reads a statement from Nathan Leopold.
RUN TIME
10 min 51 sec
FORMAT
16mm
EXTENT
390 feet
COLOR
B&W
SOUND
Optical

[I’m skipping the parts about Touhy and only transcribing the parts about Leopold]

[Silent footage of the prison and Elmer talking, a One Way Only sign leading to the prison, Ragen being interviewed in his office.]
Reporter: Are you glad that Nate is getting out in almost a month?
Touhy: I am, yes. Yes, I am.

[Ragen in his office]

Reporter: What happened when you told the good news to Leopold?
Warden Ragen: Well the word came to me at approximately a quarter to twelve, and at the time I was in the parole office of the institution and Touhy and Leopold were waiting in the assistant warden’s office, I had sent for them. And after I received the call from the Board I announced to them that they had both been given a parole.
Reporter: Was there any emotional reaction from Leopold?
Warden Ragen: I would say so, he lighted up and stood up and thanked me for the information.
Reporter: Did he have any comment? What did he say?
Warden Ragen: Well, I really didn’t stay long enough because I had a lot of newspaper people and television people and radio people waiting for me [laughs]
Reporter: Will you read us his statement please?
Warden Ragen: [puts glasses on]

[Cuts to reporter outside prison]

Reporter: Nathan Leopold will be walking out these gates after a processing that usually takes three to four weeks. Refused to be photographed or interviewed this morning after he had heard the good news.
[close up on reporter]
Reporter: Leopold sent this statement out through Warden Ragen [reading from paper] I have only two things to say, that I am grateful and I am determined. I am grateful first of all to God. For men can do only what God permits them to do. I am grateful to the Parole Board for giving me this opportunity. I am grateful to my many many friends who have given me their help, their good wishes and their prayers. And I am grateful to the press and the other mass media communications for their fair and charitable coverage of my case. And I am determined to do my utmost to justify the faith shown in me. I am acutely conscious that more than my own future hangs in the balance. Thousands of prisoners, especially long-term prisoners, look to me to vindicate the rehabilitation theory of imprisonment. I will do my best not to fail in that trust. Signed, Nathan F. Leopold Jr.

[The reporter did multiple takes of this last line]

Warden Ragen said that Leopold lit up like a Christmas tree when he heard the good news and his comment was: Thank the Lord, it’s wonderful. Now back to John Daley in New York.

Warden Ragen said that Leopold lit up like a Christmas tree when he heard the good news and said: Thank the Lord, it’s wonderful. Now back to John Daley in New York.

Warden Ragen said that Leopold lit up like a Christmas tree when he heard the good news and said: Thank the Lord, it’s wonderful. Now back to John Daley in New York.

(A) 1958 ABC Leopold Free Link

Part of the Chicago Film Archives

[Shots of prison and photographers, Leopold waving.]

Leopold: In my appearance before the board I solemnly pledged that I would avoid every form of publicity. That pledge I will keep to the letter. I will give no interviews to anyone. I will talk to no member of the press, radio or television. Please make it easier for me by not asking me to break that pledge.

Among you are men and women I count my personal friends. Many of you, I hope all of you, feel that a third of century spent in prison has been severe punishment and are happy to see me freed. I hope you want to see me succeed. To see me vindicate the trust reposed in me. Don’t then, I beg of you, add to that punishment. Don’t make it impossible for me to succeed.

I beg, I beseech you and your editors, to grant me a gift almost as precious as freedom itself, a gift without which freedom ceases to have much value, the gift of privacy. Give me a chance, a fair chance, to start life anew, thank you.
Reporter: Do you feel free yet, Mr. Leopold?
Leopold: No, I’m a little hemmed in. [reporters laugh]
Reporter: Are you going to have a reunion with your family tonight?
Leopold: I don’t know, I’m in the hands of fate, I don’t know what my own plans are.
Reporter: Are you going to fly to Puerto Rico tonight, sir?
Leopold: I don’t know
Reporter: When you were in prison did you receive psychiatric treatment?
Leopold: No
Reporter: None.

(A) March 13, 1958: Leopold release Link

Part of the Hearst Newsreels Collection at UCLA

(FREE) Leopold Release Sound & Silent 3-13-58 Link

Part of the Chicago Film Archives

Run Time: 0h 7m 48s
Format: 16mm
Color: B&W
Sound: Optical
Date Produced: 1958
Main Credits: Koza, Frank

Abstract: Nathan Leopold is released from prison and makes a statement to the press saying that as part of his parole, he is not allowed to speak to them in the future. He asks that they help him do this by leaving him alone. He answers a few questions and mentions that he plans to go to Puerto Rico, but he is unsure of his exact plans at the moment.

University of Chicago students Nathan Leopold and Richard Loeb were imprisoned for the kidnap and murder of fourteen-year-old Bobby Franks in 1924. They committed the murder in order to demonstrate their intellectual superiority, which they believed made them capable of carrying out the “perfect crime.”

Transcript:

[Reporters, photographers and film men shouting amongst themselves. One tries to get people to move so the newsreel can get a shot. Covers Leopold’s statement (he gives it one and a half times) and answering questions from the press. Reporters can be heard talking throughout. Silent coverage of prison and him walking out and around grounds.]

Leopold: Ladies and gentlemen, a month ago I begged the members of the parole board for their compassion. They found it in their hearts to grant it. Today I am enjoying the first moment of the supervised freedom which they restored to me.

I want now to beg your compassion. Yours, and your editors and your publishers. For only if you grant it, will that provisional liberty be worth having. Only then will my life be livable.

In my appearance before the board I solemnly pledged that I would avoid every form of publicity. That pledge I will keep to the letter. I will give no interviews to anyone. I will talk to no member of the press, radio or television. Please make it easier for me by not asking me to break that pledge.

Among you are men and women I count my personal friends. Many of you, I hope all of you, feel that a third of century spent in prison has been severe punishment and are happy to see me freed. I hope you want to see me succeed. To see me vindicate the trust reposed in me. Don’t then, I beg of you, add to that punishment. Don’t make it impossible for me to succeed.

I appeal as solemnly as I know how, to you, and to your editors and your publishers and to society at large, to agree that the only piece of news about me is that I have ceased to be news.

I beg, I beseech you and your editors, to grant me a gift almost as precious as freedom itself, a gift without which freedom ceases to have much value, the gift of privacy. Give me a chance, a fair chance, to start life anew, thank you.

Reporter: Do you think it does any good to put a man in prison?

Leopold: I’m no expert on that.

R: Do you feel your prayers have been answered, Nate?

L: Yes, sir.

R: Nathan do you honestly feel you can assume that privacy you wanted most?

L: I hope so, I hope so.

R: What are you thinking about now, Mr. Leopold?

R: How do you feel about going to Puerto Rico, is that where you really where you-

L: I’m very happy, that’s really where I wanted to go, that was my first choice.

R: Who among the people whom you’ve been socially in touch are you thinking of today?

L: Well, I’m very much confused at the moment, my thoughts aren’t clear.

R: After the five year parole period has expired, will you stay at that-

L: I have no idea.

R: Will you have to remain incommunicado for the whole five years, is that correct?

L: That is correct.

R: After that time are you hopeful that everyone will have forgotten the whole thing?

L: I haven’t thought that far ahead.

R: Do you feel free yet, Mr. Leopold?

L: No, I’m a little hemmed in. [reporters laugh]

R: Are you going to have a reunion with your family tonight?

L: I don’t know, I’m in the hands of fate, I don’t know what my own plans are.

R: Are you going to fly to Puerto Rico tonight, sir?

L: I don’t know.

R: When you were in prison did you receive psychiatric treatment?

L: No.

R: None.

R: Nathan, will you return to Chicago any time during the next five years?

L: I don’t know.

R: Is it true you do not know the arrangements that have been made for you?

L: It is true that I do not know the arrangements that have been made for me.

R: You undoubtedly will travel to Puerto Rico incognito, is that right?

L: Well you’re saying that, I don’t know.

R: I don’t know.

L: I don’t know either.

R: It’s your own statement that you want to be left alone, are you planning any interviews of any sort?

L Absolutely none. Absolutely none. It is part of my parole agreement that I give no interviews to anyone.

R: Nathan, are you going to Puerto Rico right away?

R: You wrote a book called Life Plus 99 Years. Is there a possibility that you may write further about-

L: I have no plans at all.

R: [?] Puerto Rico?

L: No.

R: Nate, are you going alone to Puerto Rico?

L: I don’t know.

R: Nate, do you remember about 6 months ago you read the Kaddish to us because you stood at the grave of your hopes?

L: That’s right.

R: Did you really feel at that time you were at the grave of your hopes?

L: You were there, did you think I did, Mr. Conner?

R: I really did.

L: I did too.

R: [?]

L: When the governor made a statement at that time and when the parole board granted my rehearing in November.

R: But you weren’t kidding after that day.

L: Of course not.

R: You were serious about [?]

L: [says something affirmative]

R: What are your feelings now about what you said about that sacred prayer at that time?

L: I still think of it as one of the finest prayers in our entire liturgy.

[He reads the part of his statement about not giving interviews again at the request of reporters, then Gertz pulls him away by the arm

Silent video of the prison outside, the sign, guard towers, photographers and citizens gathered outside the gate, him walking out with prison employees, walking out to steps before reporters crowd in, reporters crowding in]

(A) Leopold Release, Link

Part of the Chicago Film Archives

[Shots of prison and photographers, Leopold waving.]

Leopold: Ladies and gentlemen, a month ago I begged the members of the parole board for their compassion. They found it in their hearts to grant it. Today I am enjoying the first moment of the supervised freedom which they restored to me.

I want now to beg your compassion. Yours, and your editors and your publishers. For only if you grant it, will that provisional liberty be worth having. Only then will my life be livable.

Among you are men and women I count my personal friends. Many of you, I hope all of you, feel that a third of century spent in prison has been severe punishment and are happy to see me freed. I hope you want to see me succeed. To see me vindicate the trust reposed in me. Don’t then, I beg of you, add to that punishment. Don’t make it impossible for me to succeed.

I appeal as solemnly as I know how, to you, and to your editors and your publishers and to society at large, to agree that the only piece of news about me is that I have ceased to be news.

I beg, I beseech you and your editors, to grant me a gift almost as precious as freedom itself, a gift without which freedom ceases to have much value, the gift of privacy. Give me a chance, a fair chance, to start life anew.

($)(A) August 30, 1971: LEOPOLD DEATH #16920: ABC Evening News for Monday, Aug 30, 1971 Link

Part of the Vanderbilt News Archive

Abstract: (Studio) Paroled murderer Nathan F. Leopold dies at age 66.
REPORTER: Howard K. Smith
Duration:00:00:40

($)(A) August 30, 1971: LEOPOLD DEATH #459655: NBC Evening News for Monday, Aug 30, 1971 Link

Part of the Vanderbilt News Archive

Abstract: (Studio) Paroled murderer Nathan F. Leopold dies at age 66.
REPORTER: John Chancellor
Duration:00:00:20

($)(A) August 30, 1971: LEOPOLD DEATH #218979: CBS Evening News for Monday, Aug 30, 1971 Link

Part of the Vanderbilt News Archive

Abstract: (Studio) Murderer Nathan F. Leopold dies at age 66; spent life after parole atoning for 1924 murder.
REPORTER: John Hart
Duration:00:01:00

($)(A) May 21, 1999: THE CENTURY (LEOPOLD AND LOEB) #186319: ABC Evening News for Friday, May 21, 1999 Link

Part of the Vanderbilt News Archive

Abstract: (Studio: Peter Jennings) The 75th anniversary of Nathan Leopold-Richard Loeb thrill murder in Chicago featured; many photos and era film shown; details given of the kidnap/murder of young Bobby Franks and the following trial in which Clarence Darrow defended the pair. [University of Nevada historian Richard JENSEN – says the pair felt they could get away with “the perfect crime.”] [Original Leopold and Loeb kidnap target Armand DEUTSCH – explains why he was saved.] [Historian Geoffrey PERRET – says there was a homoerotic element to the Leopold-Loeb relationship.] Film clip shown from the movie “Compulsion” about the Leopold-Loeb case.

Reporter(s):Jennings, Peter
Duration:00:04:40

Other Videos of Interest

These videos aren’t about Leopold or Loeb specifically, but are useful for getting a sense of the time and place they lived in.

Chicago Film Archives: Susan H. and Charles P. Schwartz, Jr. Collection

(FREE) 1927: Charlevoix, Link
DATE OF PRODUCTION
1927
ABSTRACT
Home movie of a family’s stay at a Michigan lakeside home. Includes scenes of children playing on the beach, women posing on a porch and a new baby.
RUN TIME
12 min 14 sec
FORMAT
16mm
EXTENT
250 feet
COLOR
B&W
SOUND
Silent

(FREE) 1927: Charlevoix – Lewis House, Link
DATE OF PRODUCTION
1927
RUN TIME
17 min 33 sec
FORMAT
16mm
EXTENT
400 feet
COLOR
B&W
SOUND
Silent

(FREE) 1927-1931: Charlevoix, Link
DATE OF PRODUCTION
1927 – 1931
ABSTRACT
A home movie documenting a family’s summer vacation in Michigan. Includes scenes of family and children swimming and diving in a lake, men smoking cigars on a porch, men and women boating and a small picnic near the beach. This is followed by brief Chicago residential scenes of children playing and posing in the yard.
RUN TIME
17 min 11 sec
FORMAT
16mm
EXTENT
400 feet
COLOR
B&W
SOUND
Silent

Chicago Film Archives, Heidkamp Family Collection

(FREE) [1924 circa: Chicago], Link
DATE OF PRODUCTION
circa 1924
ABSTRACT
Amateur footage of Chicago shot circa 1924.
DESCRIPTION
Daytime views of the Wrigley Building from Michigan Avenue, the Eugene Field Memorial (“The Dream Lady”) and Carl von Linné Monument in Lincoln Park, Lincoln Park Zoo, as well as Chicago’s “L” trains and a route 3 streetcar.

The film ends with nighttime footage of the Lincoln Square neighborhood, including illuminated signs for Ben Tupler Co. and the Pershing Theater, which is showing the film Broken Laws (released November 9, 1924). The Pershing was built in 1918 and became the Davis Theater in the 1930s; the building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2016, and remains as one of the few operating neighborhood movie theaters in Chicago at 4614 N. Lincoln Avenue.
RUN TIME
4 min 29 sec
FORMAT
16mm
EXTENT
100 feet
COLOR
B&W
SOUND
Silent

(FREE) 1931 MONTAGE A fatal prison uprising by eleven hundred inmates / Joliet, Illinois, Link

Part of the Getty Images archive

Description: prison mess hall / debris left over from the rioting / man walking through the wreckage
Clip Length: 00:00:22:21

(FREE) Fire at Stateville Correctional Center in 1931, Link

Part of the Getty Images archive

Description: VS an interior, barred room in flame; dark figures in silhouette run toward and past camera
Clip length: 00:00:39:23

(FREE) Smoke and fire at Stateville Correctional Center during 1931 inmate riot, Link

Part of the Getty Images archive

Description: VS smoking rubble and smoke pouring from the blacksmith’s shop
Clip length: 00:00:48:19

(FREE) IL National Guard at Stateville Correctional Center after 1931 inmate riot, Link

Part of the Getty Images archive

Description: Illinois National Guardsmen at aftermath of Stateville Correctional Center fire caused by rioting inmates
Clip length: 00:00:24:22

(FREE) Men with guns in Stateville Correctional Center after 1931 inmate riot, Link

Part of the Getty Images archive

Description: Several men in suits, all carrying firearms, walk forward on a wet passageway during riot and fire at the Stateville Correctional Center
Clip length: 00:00:10:12

(FREE) Aerial views of Stateville Prison in Joliet, Illinois, which was under siege during a prison hostage crisis. Link

Part of the Getty Images archive

Date created: June 09, 1973
Clip Length: 00:00:07:12

2 thoughts on “Video Footage

  1. As a decades long student of the crime, I have found your work – both the book and this site – endlessly fascinating, smart and fresh. Thank you!

    I was wondering a couple of things, as I didn’t find any mention in your list. First, I believe perhaps it was in the film Swoon,at the end, but does some kind of morgue footage exist of Nathan Leopold? Totally morbid, I know, and it’s been many years, but I could have sworn I saw this once.

    Second, in Hal Higdon’s The Crime of the Century, the first book on the case I read, he describes a railroad workman reenacting his discovery of Bobby’s body, with a level of detail suggesting he’d seen this newsreel footage. Does this or ANY newsreel footage of the crime or trial exist?

    As a lifelong Chicagoan, I witnessed the big news awhile back when film of the 1915 Eastland disaster was found in an overseas archive. I wonder if something similar is likely/possible in this case.

    Thank you for your terrific work.

    Like

    • Thank you, I appreciate that!

      I think I know what you’re thinking of there. In the History Channel Documentary ‘Born Killers’ there are two photos of Leopold’s body in the morgue or hospital after his eyes had been removed. No idea where they got those from, that documentary is the only place I’ve seen anything like that.

      I don’t believe Higdon saw newsreel footage. The descriptions of Minke reenacting his discovery likely came from newspaper accounts, which also published photos of the reenactment. Actually many of the more famous photos of the culvert were taken during that reenactment. And Higdon talked to several of the railroad workers about their experiences.

      I have to believe that newsreel footage or other footage exists, but so far I’ve failed to find any. It’s especially frustrating because there’s so much footage from the Scopes trial a year later that always comes up when I search. I know the judge didn’t allow footage in the courtroom itself, but radio was broadcasting and film was being taken in other places, so I have hope that someday we’ll have a miraculous find like with the Eastland disaster.

      Like

Leave a comment